Psychology # 22 - Learned Helplessness

Psychology # 22 : Learned Helplessness

 

 

This is not new to many of abuse survivors, people don’t quite understand why victims / survivors don’t fight for themselves or “do something”.

 

Sure there are strong individuals will figure it all out and stand up for themselves at early age of abuse.  But there are times when victims are abused for a longer period of time, especially without enough support system, this will lead them to this “learned helplessness” mode.

 

I knew it because I was there.  There were times I just feel no matter I do was useless and felt stuck.  This until I started to pick myself up from the bottom, read and learn as many as possible I can from other survivors / experts, sooner or later, you will notice there’s a light at the end of tunnel.

 

So don’t give up yourself even though others give you up. Stay strong!

 

 

Leave a Reply

